Posted by: Helena
May 20, 2010

Helena

New State Boating Safety Requirements

Do you need a Boating License this year?

For the majority of recreational boaters, National Safe Boating Week (May 22-28th) marks the ‘unofficial’ kick-off to boating season across the country.  But, before you hit the water this season with friends and family, take a minute to ensure you meet all your state’s boating safety requirements.

Remember, boating safety laws can change annually. So it’s always a good idea to visit BoaterExam.com before every boating season to keep up on the latest boating regulations in your state; including the need for a state boating license.  As of January 28, 2010, 47 states and territories have enacted some form of mandatory boater education.

The following states have changing boat license laws for 2010:

  • Florida’s boating license (or bobber card) is now required for anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 hp or more.
  • As of June 1, 2009, all boat operators must have a New Jersey boating license to operate a boat on state waters.
  • Boating regulations have changed in North Carolina as of May 1st 2010.  Anyone under the age of 26 must successfully complete a state-approved boating safety course before operating any vessel propelled by a motor of 10hp or greater. Boaters should carry their education certificate (boating license) onboard while operating.
  • As of 2010, ALL boaters must carry their Oregon boater education card (also mistakenly referred to as the Oregon boat license) when operating any powerboat (including PWC or any motorized watercraft) greater than 10hp.
  • As of July 1st 2010, all Personal Watercraft (PWC) operators 35 years of age and younger must pass a boat safety course and carry the Boating Safety Education Course Certificate (boating license) when operating their PWC in Virginia.
  • In 2010, any operator 30 years of age and younger must have the boater education card (also referred to as the Washington boating license) when operating a motorboat with 15 horsepower or greater.

TakeMeFishing.org has state boating regulations, events and programs in all 50 states.

For a complete list of boater education requirements visit BoaterExam.com.

Author: Kerry Moher – BoaterExam.com

Article Rating:
Share |